Affordable 2.84 acre low bank Oceanfront with over 370 feet frontage backed on to 30 acres of protected forest land. 1,200 sq. ft. cabin built to lock-up. Great location situated on private pebble beach.
|Location :||Lasqueti Island, British Columbia|
A passenger-only ferry (no cars) leaves from French Creek on Vancouver Island, midway between Parksville and Qualicum Beach, arriving on Lasqueti in 50 minutes. Summer sailings occur three times a day, but only a couple of times a week in the winter, so check the ferry schedules at www.bcferries.com when making your travel plans. You can also call 1-888-BCFERRY (BC) or (250) 386-3431 (Victoria).
|Investment Features :||Handy Man Special|
|Services :||There are no utility services on Lasqueti, other than Telephone, but there is a good network of gravel roads. There is a School from Primary to grade 8, Gas station, Restaurant, Bar, Volunteer Fire Dept, Community Hall, small Library, Church and a Nurse comes to the Island twice a week. There is a lot of alternative Medicine here.|
Be prepared to explore Lasqueti on foot, by taxi, or by bicycle, as there is no car ferry to the island. Lasqueti has much to offer in terms of natural beauty and outdoor recreational opportunities, but little for services and shopping. There are only a couple of options for accommodation so call in advance.
|Area Data :||
Lasqueti Island is located in the middle of the Gulf of Georgia. Residents are accused of trying to put the clock back, living a self sufficient lifestyle reminiscent of an earlier century. Lasqueti’s earth-friendly resident’s number 350. They live in relative isolation on this 68 square kilometres Gulf Island and enjoy the peace and tranquility that visitors remark on. Lasqueti has a small school for grades one to eight. Residents make their livings through small farming ventures, fishing, and clam and oyster farming.
|History :||This 5-kilometre by 21-kilometre Island has a history similar to many of its island neighbours. However, this is not to say that its history is any less interesting. The island was named in 1791 after Juan Maria Lasqueti, a prominent Spanish naval officer. Some marine fossils found on Lasqueti have been traced to 100 million years ago. More recently, First Nations, Spanish explorers, and white settlers inhabited the island to explore, farm, ranch, and log. Lasqueti Island once had great stands of red cedar, however, much of these were logged prior to 1950.Tucker Bay was the location of the first post office, steamship service, school, and store – all developed after 1912. False Bay became the site for the first salmon cannery in 1916, and the population followed. False Bay would become Lasqueti’s main centre, receiving the same services that Tucker Bay had earlier on.|
|Zoning :||Single Family (Islands Trust)|
|Legal :||Strata lot 1, Section 21, Lasquesti Island Nanaimo District. Strata Plan VIS4786. Together with an interest in the Common property in proportion to the unit entitlement.
|Taxes :||$1,617.22 (2009)|
|Boundaries :||See maps|
|Listing # :||11132|